PDA

View Full Version : Punt Return Competition



Bengals1181
06-12-2014, 01:26 PM
The Bengals (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/cincinnati-bengals) may be willing to keep the incumbent Brandon Tate (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/71180/brandon-tate) as the the top punt returner again this year, but they're also giving some new players a chance to unseat him.Per Geoff Hobson (http://www.bengals.com/news/article-1/Notes-Dalton-still-hopeful-after-Kap-hit-Alex-Smith-re-signs-Bodine-starts-/555f34c3-dee3-4d77-8e81-a72b39f964e8), special teams coordinator Darrin Simmons has been giving a variety of players looks at punt returner, including third-year receiver Marvin Jones (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/155096/marvin-jones)




To catch punts special teams coordinator Darrin Simmons sent back incumbent Brandon Tate, wide receiver Marvin Jones, and cornerback Adam Jones (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/2860/adam-jones) in that order. Also back there were wide receivers Jasper Collins (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/194107/jasper-collins), a first-year player just claimed from Piittsburgh, and Colin Lockett (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/245427/colin-lockett), a rookie free agent from San Diego State.
Just before the drill ended, head coach Marvin Lewis called over rookie free-agent running back Jeff Scott (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/players/245430/jeff-scott) to catch one after he worked on other aspects of punt cover and return.
Jones was a decent returner for the Cal Golden Bears (http://www.sbnation.com/nfl/teams/chicago-bears) in college with 14 career punt returns for 102 yards, all as a senior, and a long of 37 against USC.
This is something to keep in mind, as Jasper Collins, Jeff Scott and Colin Lockett are all long-shots to make the 53-man roster, let alone the gameday 46-man roster.
The Bengals don't appear ready to decide if Adam Jones will remain at cornerback full-time, in which case it's unlikely he'd get a lot of action as a returner.
Jones could be in for a more expanded role entering his third NFL season, including some looks as a returner.


http://www.cincyjungle.com/2014/6/12/5803864/marvin-jones-punt-returner-bengals-minicamp