PDA

View Full Version : Any home video system experts here?

darvon
04-27-2011, 09:08 PM
I need to talk about redesigning my home video system with someone...anyone....Buehler?

Andy Freeland
04-27-2011, 09:23 PM
I am far from an expert, but I do love to tinker and do research. My system is a cross between a home theater and a science project. I'm currently looking into running the entire thing through a mythtv box (sort of a tivo for linux). I also tend to be more of a discount shopper, rarely if ever going for the high end. What is it you're looking to do?

darvon
04-27-2011, 09:59 PM
I also am looking at MythTV, but in the future, possibly WMC/HomeRunPrime/Remote Potatoe. Bt enough names, Since I am a Marketing Guy let me state my requirements.

Cableco is causing me to upgrade my equip. I have decided to redesign. Here is what I have and what I want to do want. Fidelity (HDTV, THX, Blu-ray) isn't a priority for me. Access in any room is. Archiving zillions of shows is. Wireless is.

In Room A:

Internet Router with Wireless
Cable access from Cable Co basic cable (digital)
Big TV DLT : HDMI input

HOMEBASE for Media Center

In Room B
Large TV - Older - S-video/NTSC input
Ethernet connection
No computer/subject to change

Throughout house:
Wireless.

I want the ability to:

Record from cable
Play from recordings
Play from Realtime tuner
Play from dvd

On any wired or wireless Windows Computer in house. Plust the 1 HDMI TV and the 1 NTSC TV.

darvon
04-27-2011, 10:05 PM
Or in prose, I want to take a Basic Digital Cable in and put it to a Tivo-esque device and replay live/tivo/amazonVOD anywhere I have a screen, TV or Computer. I have one real good HDTV, one old non-HDMI HDTV, one old 32" tv and 4 desktop PCs in various rooms and 3 laptops and 1 netbook and 1 ipad. so in all 12 screens. Other than maybe the Ipad, I want to watch Real-time or archived or VOD on any one, and on 3 at once.