Thread: NCAA Will Not Renew Contract with EA

NCAA Will Not Renew Contract with EA

http://www.ncaa.org/wps/wcm/connect/...ports+contract

I find this to be very interesting. Full thoughts as thread develops, but I'm guessing a few now:

1. NCAA not happy that O'Bannon has gone so far.
    2. NCAA needs to punish EA
    3. IF NCAA signs with someone else, #'s and images of players may be generic; or no deal.
    4. Cheaper game in future?
    5. Has NCAA been tipped that the judge will certify class in the suit? It has been since June 20 for news.
    Last edited by Rich Gapinski; 07-17-2013 at 02:37 PM.
    As a writer, I'm like the last girl at the bar. In the morning, you may regret asking for my services, but I'll get the job done. As long as I don't puke on your floor.

Twitter: @PolishedSports

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich Gapinski View Post
    http://www.ncaa.org/wps/wcm/connect/...ports+contract

I find this to be very interesting. Full thoughts as thread develops, but I'm guessing a few now:

1. NCAA not happy that O'Bannon has gone so far.
    2. NCAA needs to punish EA
    3. IF NCAA signs with someone else, #'s and images of players may be generic; or no deal.
    4. Cheaper game in future?
    5. Has NCAA been tipped that the judge will certify class in the suit? It has been since June 20 for news.
    Oh please if there is a God in heaven let this be the precursor to the return of 2K Football.
    "Biggest blowout since Andy Reid vs. Skinny jeans" - Colts01

It sounds like the NCAA is getting out of the video game licensing business. They can't stand the heat. To me, it's also an admission that they're on the wrong side of the O'Bannon lawsuit.

I guess if anyone wants to make a college football video game, they'll have to negotiate with individual schools to use their trademarks. I don't see how they can mimic current college rosters, though, since the NCAA won't let the players take money from the video game companies.