Quote Originally Posted by Andy Freeland View Post
It's amazing to me how often that happens. As I understand it, one of the first things that a ref is taught is that you don't call anything unless you actually saw it, don't infer anything. But I hear all the time about a ref admitting that he made a call because he missed the play but saw something in the aftermath that he decided must have been caused by a penalty.
I am assuming you hear about this stuff more than most. Do you have a feel for how often it reflects an NBA-style institution, where the perceived superior player will get the benefit of the questionable judgement?