Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tim Tebow

Tim Tebow

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Freeland View Post
    I like Tebow as a between the tackles, short yardage runner. As far as I can tell that's about the only NFL caliber skill how showed in college. But he doesn't have anything near break away speed and I don't think he can cut it as a passer right now unless the defense is playing the run. The reason most people are assuming Tebow will get snaps in the wildcat is that he is a 1st round pick and will be given every chance of getting on the field, where else would that happen but in the wildcat.

Ok, so full disclosure - I have to start by saying I'm a UF grad student. I've been there the entire time Tim Tebow has. I've seen every game he's played, every snap, every TD, every game-winning celebration. I've watched "The Promise" speech probably 50 times. I might have even shed a tear at his final home game against FSU (or it could've been salt water from the boiled peanuts - I'm not totally sure). And I have to say, despite all the obvious bias I have towards him, I STILL think he's going to prove A LOT of people wrong about what he's capable of in the NFL.

Look, I can understand the arguments about having played in the spread offense - the NFL isn't exactly running that style of "O." But you can't tell me the only "NFL caliber skill he showed in college" was running between the tackles:

- 32 PASSING TD's to only 6 INTs during his Heisman season
    - a career completion percentage of 67%
    - 88 career PASSING TD's to only 15 picks - in other words a nearly 6:1 TD to INT ratio